Categories
Uncategorized

Week #11 Blog – History, Trends, and Issues in HPT

This was another interesting week of articles.  I have seen how blended learning has advanced throughout the decade.  Most of my degrees have had some sort of blended learning to accommodate the needs of students.  Some courses have used in person combined with live on-line with other asynchronous methods to deliver course content.  I have also seen instances of blended learning in my military career.  As the technology has advanced, the military shift to blended learning has increased. 

Some of the articles we have read this week highlighted that blended learning is just as effective as face-to-face and that satisfaction was higher than for e-learning courses.  This makes sense since interaction with classmates is an important element in learning. It was surprising to see how other countries viewed blended learning.  In the late 2000’s, US was the leader in using blended learning in the workplace at about 75 percent while some Asian countries were below 50 percent in blended learning usage.  (Kim, Bonk, & Teng, 2009) I don’t think blended learning is the answer for improving learning until the content or material is assessed.  I have seen online content in some of my previous courses that was not related to the face-to-face information presented by instructors.  The disconnected material made it hard to know what to expect for assignments. 

Other than enrolling in courses that used blended learning, I have enrolled in several massive online open courses.  I think these courses are great for learning a unique skill for free. Some of the courses offer the opportunity to get a certificate but for a small fee.  This is helpful if you need to indicate that you have had verifiable training on a topic.  I was fascinated by the categories of MOOCs.  I had never thought about the courses from any other perspective but my own.  I am currently doing a course through edX in which I go through the modules, take quizzes throughout, and submit a project to be graded by the course instructors for final assessment.  Obviously, there is no pressure to complete but this is probably one of the disadvantages of this type of educational technology.  There can be thousands of people around taking this course at once while working fulltime.  Other life events take priorities so staying on pace becomes difficult. (Bonk, Lee, Reeves, & Reynolds, 2018) I think next time I will try to take a course with a friend or co-worker so that we push each other to complete and challenge each other to learn more. 

I think it is appropriate to address blended learning and educational technology with HPT.  I believe there has to be a human element to the instruction that is required to keep students motivated and a method to access material at any time to facilitate learning in both a school and work environments. 

References:

Bonk, C. J., Lee. M. M., Reeves, T. C., & Reynolds, T. H. (2018). The emergence and design of massive open online courses. In R. A. Reiser & J. V. Dempsey (Eds.), Trends and issues in instructional design and technology (4th Ed.), (pp. 250-258). New York, NY: Pearson Education. Preprint available: http://www.publicationshare.com/3 or: http://publicationshare.com/pdfs/MOOCs_Reiser_book_by_Bonk_Reeves_Reynolds_Lee_Final_with_citation.pdf

Kim, K.-J., Bonk, C. J., & Teng, Y.-T. (2009, August). The present state and future trends of blended learning in workplace learning settings across five countries. Asia Pacific Education Review (APER), 10(3). (or perhaps something more specific: Teng, Y.-T., Bonk, C. J., & Kim, K.-J. (2009, February). The trend of blended learning in Taiwan: Perceptions of HRD practitioners and implications for emerging competencies. HRD International, 12(1), 69-84.

5 replies on “Week #11 Blog – History, Trends, and Issues in HPT”

Ed,

As always, I appreciated your insights regarding the readings this week! You have helped me gain a better understanding of HPT through your different experiences and interpretations of our readings. I loved this quote from your blog post: “I believe there has to be a human element to the instruction that is required to keep students motivated and a method to access material at any time to facilitate learning in both a school and work environments. ” I absolutely believe that there needs to be a human element to instruction to be effective. Your experience with MOOCs have helped emphasize the importance of a human element. Do you feel that you learn less in courses that you have taken that have less of a human presence? I know that studies have shown that instructor presence (and other elements of the Community of Inquiry) are important factors in student satisfaction in online courses.

-Shanna Sanders

Like

Shanna, I do feel that I learn less when I don’t interact with others who may have experience in a certain course or field. In most courses, I have been required to read the material and ask questions to the instructor. Assignments were completed on our own which is expected but there was no other student interaction except for a couple of group projects.

I always tell a story about one of my group projects. As a group, we decided to rotate turning in parts of our group assignment. That way we share ownership of the documents. As you know, it takes time to review for content errors and grammar. After that, the whole group would review and agree before that individual submitted assignment. This guaranteed that everyone’s take on the information was included. One time, one of the team members decided that they were going to do their own change and just submit without review with the others. Result: lowest assignment grade for the group. The instructor also called out that it appeared that one person had written the assignment. That was without the instructor even talking to anyone in the group. So that is why I believe group efforts make assignments not only productive but also more interesting which promotes learning.

Liked by 1 person

Oh no. I am so sorry that happened to you and your group! That is a certainly an example of a worst case scenario with group projects. Like you, I usually have a much more positive experience and am happy to have the opportunity to learn from my classmates.

Like

Ed,

Great insights this week. I agree, some face-to-face instruction can be low quality just as some online instruction can be low quality. You are right, it is important to assess the instruction. I have taken courses in seated, hybrid/blended, and asynchronous online settings. In each of these delivery methods I had courses that were great and courses that were not so great.

I have never enrolled in a MOOC course. I am familiar with MOOCs but have never participated in one. I like the idea of an accountability partner. My department has all completed certification courses through Quality Matters, and it has helped to have team members go through the courses together.

Like

Hi Ed,
I will also echo the other comments – I too believe that SOME classmate interaction is needed for a fulfilling course. I do believe that, as Curt has indicated, that research shows that hybrid learning is the most effective, but I don’t think that makes it the most enjoyable.
For me, in an educational setting, the interaction with the professor makes the most difference. I can commiserate with a classmate, but live interaction with a professor provides far more direction for me then distance learning.
I have enjoyed Curt’s recent Ask Me Anything sessions after the lecturers. There has only been a couple of students, and we have had the opportunity to get questions answered, and to get to know the professors thoughts on various topics which has really fleshed out the class for me.
All that said, you have interested me in looking at the MOOCs and seeing if I might be interested in anything.

Thanks for the comments!

-Kevin

Like

Leave a comment