Categories
Uncategorized

Week #13 Blog – More Career and PD Discussion

One of the articles was about how companies advertise job openings in the educational technology or instructional design field. The article highlighted how these fields can be described in numerous ways in job openings and what some of the current responsibilities are for those positions. It was interesting to see how job descriptions pull pieces from the different fields making it unclear which field it is referring to and what skills are truly needed.  Do HR departments really understand the difference? The authors believed that there will be many new positions that will be created as a result of online learning. There were some key skills that were discussed such as project management, design, graphic design, multimedia, and technology management that were identified as wording that is frequently used in these job descriptions. A chart was used to show the types of jobs based on the title compared to the duties and responsibilities for that title. I think this shows how much overlap there is and difficult it is to write a description based on a field name. Instructional design jobs selection, for example, relied heavily on responsibilities, requirements, and qualifications. While other positions focused on abilities and skills or preferences for a specific product experience when choosing a candidate. (Basdogan & Bonk, 2020)

Gabrielli and Branson’s (2012) article on “Getting a Job in Business and Industry”, described some principles that would have been great to know when I was in high school getting ready to venture in the adult world. I don’t remember my guidance counselor telling me anything about gaining experience by looking into the field that I think I want to study. Of course, the technology at the that time was primitive compared to today. It is unbelievable that there was no internet or other technologies to reach anyone in the country without a hefty long-distance phone bill or writing a letter. I think some of the advice would have been for a person to make sure his or her passion could generate income if that person planned to do it as a career.

Obviously, technology advances such as social media aid in the search for jobs and suitable candidates. It was funny to see that some of the selection process asked if the potential employee would be a problem to manage. In this age, image is everything. It seems that you can be qualified on paper but not qualified if your social media page had outrageous information or pictures that could damage a potential employer reputation or image. I believe the rest of the article addressed the job search, resume and interview tips to increase opportunities for interviews and job offers. (Gabrielli & Branson, 2012) There are things that are easily forgotten when a person is in a position for a long time or with organizations that move people up internally within the section or department. In my years with the military, I had to interview only a few times for a position and even then I had to be completely unmotivated to be turned down since there was a shortage of people for those positions. 

Overall, this week’s readings revealed some potential positions and levels of responsibilities required in the fields of instructional design, educational technology to name a few. I also see how these positions end up in HR. Many of these positions have management of projects and some type of training development. I would like to see more of these positions incorporated into departments that could use training to develop the workforce and increase shared understanding of company processes and procedures.

Basdogan, M., Ozdogan, Z., & Bonk, C. J. (2020). Understanding the diverse field of “educational technology” as revealed in Twitter job postings: Encoding/decoding approach. The Qualitative Report, 25(8), 2044-2066. Available: https://nsuworks.nova.edu/tqr/vol25/iss8/3

Gabrielli, G. K., & Branson, R. K. (2012). Getting a job in business and industry. In R. A. Reiser & J. V. Dempsey (Eds.), Trends and issues in instructional design and technology (3rd ed.) (pp. 263-272). Boston, MA: Pearson Education, Inc.

3 replies on “Week #13 Blog – More Career and PD Discussion”

Ed, this was my favorite quote from your blog post this week: “Do HR departments really understand the difference?” I think it really sums up a lot of the discrepancies I have seen in job descriptions for instructional designer and technologist positions. So often, the job descriptions include a laundry list of skills that seem difficult to obtain. I have worked in instructional design and technology for seven years and I still do not feel like I have encountered many of the programs listed in job descriptions. I appreciated your reflections on the guidance your provided from your guidance counselor. Instructional design and technology would have been a very different field when I was in high school!

-Shanna Sanders

Like

Hi Ed,

I really liked the practical nature of this weeks content. I think you are right – every serious high schooler would be well served to have guidance like that presented in the getting a job article.
I hope things have changed from when we were in high school. My guidance counselor was a joke. The only actionable advice I ever received from him was that he would not send a truant offer after me for the second semester of my senior year (I had transferred in to the school my senior year and had all the credits I needed to graduate – so i asked if I could go to work instead of coming to school, but I still wanted to graduate with the class in the spring instead of at the winter break).
I also agree with your observation that more ID jobs should be spread around outside of the HR department. I think that will eventually happen as ID gets beefed up in more HR departments, but it will be slow.
-kevin

Like

Ed,

I found this last week’s readings to be insightful. I often wonder if HR departments really understand the difference. At my university the hiring manager is actually responsible for posting positions and hiring. However, in some organizations this all runs through HR. I am not sure how our HR would be successful in hiring for each school or department based on all of the varying responsibilities and skills needed for each area. I also have found it interesting to learn throughout this course that a lot of IST careers are in human resources. Based on my current and prior employment I would never have thought this to be the case.

Like

Leave a comment